Deprecated: mysql_connect(): The mysql extension is deprecated and will be removed in the future: use mysqli or PDO instead in /home/hotlnepal/public_html/cpadmin/dbconn.php on line 5
AUC clinches 8th Buddha Subba Gold Cup - Nepal Daily News

Home      About Us      Sitemap    Contact Us

Hotel Nepal
4 Star Hotels in Kathmandu
3 Star Hotels in Kathmandu
2 Star Hotels in Kathmandu
1 Star Hotels in Kathmandu
Heritage Hotels in Kathmandu
Tourist Class Hotels Kathmandu
Resort Near Kathmandu Valley
Apartments in Kathmandu
Hotels in Lalitpur (Patan)
Hotels in Bhaktapur
Hotels Resort in Nagarkot
Hotels Resort in Dhulikhel
Hotels Resort in Daman
Domestic Air Service Nepal
Rent A Car in Nepal
International Air Service Nepal
Hotels in Lukla
Hotels in Namche
Deluxe Hotels in Pokhara
Standard Hotels in Pokhara
Tourist Class Hotels in Pokhara
Hotels in Jomsom
Hotels Resort in Gorkha
Hotels Resort in Bandipur
Hotels Resort in Tansen Palpa
Hotels Resort in Lumbini
Hotels Resort in Butwal
Hotels Resort in Hetauda
Hotels in Manakamsana
Hotels in Bharatpur
Wildlife Resort in Chitwan
Wildlife Resort in Bardia
Wildlife Resort Koshi Tappu
Hotels in Nepalgunj
Hotels in Dhangadhi
Hotels in Nuwakot (Trishuli)
Contact Us

AUC clinches 8th Buddha Subba Gold Cup


After African United Club (AUC) touched cloud nine by winning the prestigious 4th Aaha Gold Cup a week ago, they defeated hosts Dharan FC 3-1 to clinch the title of 8th Buddha Subba Tuborg Gold Cup Football Tournament in Dharan today.

It was complete disarray for the hosts as they were bereft from winning the title after reaching the finals for the fourth time. AUC becomes the third foreign team to walk away with title. Indian Belgeria Sporting club and Bangladeshi Dhanmundi Club were the other teams to put their stamp on the Buddha Subba title.

Dharan FC played a sensational first quarter with many relentless attacks but they lacked the clinical-fashion finishing touch to score an opener. AUC, who was playing with MMC's Nurudeen Salau and Daniel Ekong after winning the Aaha title, shuddered against Dharan's attacks but held on.

Then, in the 21st minute, Machhindra's Michael Adeyemo struck for AUC. It was unfortunate for Dharan and fortunate for AUC when lanky Michael tapped the ball off Dharan FC goalie Dilip Chhetri. Skipper Obagbemiro Junior supplied a high free-kick and Michael finished it to lead the visitors against a sell-out crowd of 8,000.

The real threat from Dharan came in the 25th minute when Sanjeev Tamang squandered a beautiful chance shooting wide off the target off Sudip Limbu's cross. AUC took lemon tea 1-0 up.

After the re-start, Dharan FC were again more aggressive and pressed their front men seeking goals. But, it was again AUC who struck with a brilliant goal. MMC's Nurudeen Salau doubled the tally in the 43rd minute utilizing the blunder of a sleeping defense line and dodging the goalie. His MMC's teammate Daniel supplied him an elevated cross and he finished it off.

Finally, Dharan FC were rewarded for their attacks, when NTSC's Christian Chidibere pulled down Milan Shrestha inside the box. Referee Madhu Sudan Khanal didn't hesitate to point to the spot kick, which was easily netted by Rishi Rai.

Skipper-cum-coach Obagbemiro Junior strengthened his side replacing Michael for Henry Etuk, but Dharan FC were holding possession and attacking. When the clock tickled past 77 minutes, Dharan FC goalie Dilip Chhetri made a blunder while clearing the ball that saw AUC again taking a two goal lead. MMC's Daniel Ekong flicked the ball over the goalie leaving him completely stranded.

In the stipulated time of 40 minutes each half, the referee flashed out two yellow cards for AUC (Michael and Chidiebere Christian).

"We are glad to beat the hosts in the final and clinch the title," AUC captain Obagbemiro Junior poured his joy. "The credit goes to my players, managers and especially to Chijioke (had led the team earlier but had to go Bangladesh and Indonesia for personal work)".

Suraj Khaling was upset with aftermath saying, "We could have won the match but the goalie poured cold water over our dreams".

Man of the Final - Nurudeen Salau

MMC's Nurudeen Salau scored one and boosted his players throughout the match. He, was declared for Man of the Final and presented a beautiful trophy and 2,000 cash.

Man of the Series- Sudip Limbu

RCT's Sudip Limbu played sensational football throughout the match. He was key player to lead his team to the finals. The tournament's Organizing Committee honored him declaring him the Man of the Series with Rs 25,000 (earlier, it was declared to provide a motorbike for the best player but was cancelled).

Highest Goal Scorer- Milan Shrestha

RCT's Milan Shrestha walked away with Highest Goal Scorer prize scoring four goals in the tournament.

Hotels in Kathmandu              Hotels in Pokhara       Domestic Flight Nepal        Rent a Car in Nepal

Golden Triangle Gorkha Air Cosmic Air Shangri-La Skyline Air Nepal Treks Nepal Tour Tibet Trek Buddhism Hinduism Mt. Kailash Malaysia Air
Nepal Airlines Air Asia Air China Air India Arke Flly BB Arways Bahrain Air Biman GMG Air Air Sahara Buddha Air Oman Air
China Southern Etihad Gulf Air Indian Air IndiGo Jet Airways Kuwait Air Kingfisher Korean Air Dragon Air RAK Air United Airw.
Qatar Airways FlyDubai ChinaEastern Air Arabia Silk Air Austrian Air Spice Jet PIA Hiace Minibus Coaster Big Bus
Diplomatic Mission Gov. Offices Int’l Flight Events Weather Sutlej Bus Car Van Thai Druk Air 4WD Resort Ktm
Apartments List Nepal Hotels General Info. Tourism News Restaurants Festivals Nepal Places to Visit Health Association Links Best Offer Nepal News
最好的语言, meilleures Langues, 最高の言語, Mejores Idiomas, 최고의 언어, beste Sprachen, Лучший Языки, melhores Idiom, أفضل اللغات, हिंदी
Afrikaans Shqiptar العربية հայերեն Azərbaycan Euskal беларускай বাঙ্গালী български català 中国的 中國的 Hrvatski
Nederlands ceský dansk English esperanto eesti საქართველოს Filipino Suomi français galego Deutsch ελληνικά
ગુજરાતી ayisyen עברית हिंदी Íslenska magyar Bahasa Gaeilge italiano 日本の ಕನ್ನಡ 한국의 Latin
македонски Latvijas Lietuvos Melayu português Maltija slovenských norske فارسی polski român русский српски
slovenski Kiswahili español Svenskt Cymraeg தமிழ் Український తెలుగు ภาษาไทย Türk اردو Việt ייִדיש

© 1998 - 2013, All rights Reserved